The Good Shepard – A Comforting Message

Sharing the Daily Devotion from Emily Hylden and the folks at the Living Church Foundation.  This is a wonderful message from Lindsey Melden as we celebrate this labor day.  The art depicted is the Cermanski “Good Shepherd”.

Daily Devotional is a ministry of the Living Church Foundation.
Image licensed via Creative Commons.
Jim Forest/Flickr
Good Shepherd
Daily Devotional • September 5
By Lindsey Melden

When asked if he was the Christ, Jesus told the crowds to take an account of his good works. He told them that his actions spoke louder than words and that if they were his sheep they would recognize the voice of the Good Shepherd.

Shepherds are caretakers. They sleep under the stars and watch over their sheep with protection and vigilance. I am comforted by this image. God, the Good Shepherd, watches over me, leads me to still waters and lush pastures; no one can snatch me from God’s hand.

May you find peace and security today in the knowledge that you are known and cared for by the Good Shepherd.

John 10:19-30

Again the Jews were divided because of these words. 20Many of them were saying, “He has a demon and is out of his mind. Why listen to him?” 21Others were saying, “These are not the words of one who has a demon. Can a demon open the eyes of the blind?”

22At that time the festival of the Dedication took place in Jerusalem. It was winter, 23and Jesus was walking in the temple, in the portico of Solomon. 24So the Jews gathered around him and said to him, “How long will you keep us in suspense? If you are the Messiah, tell us plainly.” 25Jesus answered, “I have told you, and you do not believe. The works that I do in my Father’s name testify to me; 26but you do not believe, because you do not belong to my sheep. 27My sheep hear my voice. I know them, and they follow me. 28I give them eternal life, and they will never perish. No one will snatch them out of my hand. 29What my Father has given me is greater than all else, and no one can snatch it out of the Father’s hand. 30The Father and I are one.”

Leave a Reply

