THE Offering of A POEM TO MEDITATE ON

Issenheim Outher Panels

A portion of the Outer Panel of the Issenheim Altar Piece in the Chapel of the Monastery in Issenheim created by various artists primarily Van Eck.  Note the corpus which is depicted  with gruesome deformities and sores establishing an identity with the patients of  the hospital who suffered from ergotism a disease,  causing gangrened and rotting limbs. Truly a statement and assurance of Divine Mercy

 

3 APRIL -AN OCTAVE OF THE FEAST OF THE RESURRECTION (EASTER) also known as DIVINE MERCY SUNDAY

A Facebook friend Father David Sheen, an Anglican Priest, shared this poem today as a means of honoring and reflecting upon today a Sunday, an Octave of Easter sometimes called “Divine Mercy Sunday”.  It succinctly sums up my faith in a manner similar to the creeds.  It is by a poet named Carol Wimmer and I am very pleased to share it with you.

 

WHEN I SAY I AM A CHRISTIAN

When I say I am a Christian

I’m not shouting I’ve been saved

I’m whispering I get lost at times

That’s why I chose this way

When I say I am a Christian

I don’t speak with human pride

I’m confessing that I stumble

Needing God to be my guide

When I say that I am a Christian

I’m not trying to be strong

I’m professing that I’m weak

And pray for strength to carry on

When I say I am a Christian

I’m not bragging of success

I’m admitting that I’ve failed

And cannot ever pay the debt

When I say I’m a Christian

I don’t think I know it all

I submit to my confusion

Asking humbly to be taught

When I say I’m a Christian

I’m not claiming to be perfect

My flaws are all too visible

But God believes I’m worth it

When I say I am a Christian

I feel the sting of pain

I have my share of heartache

That’s why I seek God’s name

When I say I’m a Christian

I do not wish to judge

I have no authority …

I only know I’m loved

CAROL WIMMER

Best wishes for a comforted and holy Divine Mercy Sunday!  PN

Art is licensed through Creative Commons

View the original Facebook Post at Divine Mercy

Leave a Reply

